What Makes You (as a Software Dev) More Valuable?

What Makes You (as a Software Dev) More Valuable?

Consider taking the road less traveled to get to your best software dev career.

·

6 min read

My Story : Could Be Your Story

In 1989 it seem that the only computer (software development) training you could get was by taking one of three University degree paths:

  1. Computer Engineering - excruciatingly difficult classes based on computer hardware
  2. Computer Science - excruciatingly difficult classes based on advanced math & algorithms (then defined by books like The Art of Computer Programming by Donald E. Knuth.
  3. Computer Information Systems - Far less excruciating courses on learning about business and how computers work.

I chose the latter and began my courses. But, school couldn't keep my attention.

Running From School

I finally burned out on all the classes because I wanted to "jump into the world of work & computer programming". I didn't quite complete my degree.
I am only missing two classes to fulfill my AAS (Associates of Applied Science) in CIS:

  1. Cobol III
  2. Management 205

Building Computers

I took a job at a small business where they sold PCs (personal computers). I ordered the parts (1MB ram stick was $40USD). Average computer had 2 or 4Megabytes of RAM then. I figured if I could just learn how computers really worked (by building them & installing Operating Systems (DOS 3.3, Windows 3.0) then I'd be able to get an even better job. I was making $5/hour and dreaming of another better job.

Technical Support

I was papering the city with my resumes and looking for the next thing and I was finally contacted. It was for a role at a medium sized company (300 employees) that built laser levels for earth moving equipment. They also did software. I jumped in and learned a proprietary software package and started taking calls and supporting civil engineers (construction workers).
Suddenly I was making $9/hour. Almost doubled my prev salary.

Config.sys & Autoexec.bat

Those were the days of editing people's config.sys and autoexec.bat files (on DOS) to make sure their system could run our software. It was painful. Imagine telling a guy who drives a bulldozer for a living how to open a file on his computer and then having him edit it and get it right?
Sometimes these callers would ask questions like, "where is the 'd' key?" Oy! "It's on the left side in the middle."

Advanced Software Development: But Not For Me, Yet

It was at that company though where they were building a new piece of software. The software allowed the Civil Engineers to input contour maps (geological maps with elevations of earth) and have the data analyzed and turned into a 3D representation of the land. This allowed the software to estimate how much dirt needed to be moved in / out / or around to make a level building area.

This software sold for $7,000 at the time & required a special dongle on the parallel (printer port) that verified the software was not stolen. It was a pretty big deal.

Software Quality Assurance (SQA)

It is while at that company that I taught myself a very special tool called SQARobot. It was one of the early PC programs which allowed you to "record" the actions you took in a piece of software so you could run those actions again later to regression test the software.

I Found A Valuable Expertise

In 1993 basically no one was doing test automation (selenium wasn't even the glint in someone's eye) so it gave me a real advantage. Software Developers didn't want to learn the (lowly) QA tool and other people just didn't take the time to do it. I stumbled into an opportunity and it gave me a lot of options.

Company Sold, Leaving Town

I have strong roots here in Dayton, OH and I didn't want to move so when the company was sold & moving to Georgia I had to find another place to work.

New Place, Similar Tool

The reason I got my next opportunity was because this place (Real Estate investment) needed someone to run automated tests on their software using a different tool named WinRunner.
I assured them I could learn it very quickly since SQARobot was actually the more difficult tool.

Along the Way : Development

All along the way, I am developing utilities (in C++/MFC/ Visual Studio) to help me in my work. I learn a lot of things that Real Software Developers know but I didn't know it. I just knew I was learning and making things happen.

My Reading / Learning Habit

At the time, I read every technical book I could get my hands on. That wasn't easy back then -- even by 1995 with the (consumer) Internet in full swing it was difficult to find resources.

Other Developers Didn't Read

However, I noticed something very interesting. Other developers didn't read. There are some memorable times when another developer came upon me reading a copy of Learning the Unix Operating System (1st ed.)

51wj6qgz1SL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

He said, "You read? I haven't read anything since college." (at least 10 years)

Stay Interested, Stay Energized

I kept reading, learning and I stayed interested in what was happening in the programming world. I still am after 30 years of working in the industry.

I Arrived: Took Me Too Long

I finally worked my way into a Software Development role. It took me way longer than it will take you though. Back then, there was a huge wall of separation erected by The People In Power & it took me a long time to climb over it. However, I did make it over it because I was an unstoppable force.

Yeah, I just said I was an unstoppable force. What I mean by that was that I was always learning & growing and eventually all that knowledge just pushed me over that terrible wall.

Main Points of This Article

  1. If you really want to be a Software Developer you will make it in.
  2. You may have to take a non-traditional route. I suggest you consider taking a job in Technical Support or Software Quality Assurance for a time. Instead of being a little fish in a big pond (development) you can be an unstoppable force in Quality Assurance and help teams in amazing ways with your development knowledge. It will probably lead to you finding other openings (possibly within your company) and it will build confidence.
  3. Do everything you can to keep your energy up. I run 1 mile a couple of times a week (and have for 20 years). We Software-people sit a lot and we lose energy. Make sure you have a lot of energy. You need energy to learn new technologies.
  4. Learn everything about everything. Learn scripting languages like Excel VBA. Learn Swift and build iOS apps. Learn Kotlin and build Android apps. Learn a new web framework and build PWA (Progressive Web Apps). Read, watch videos and learn everything.

If you do these simple things & keep your mind open to a non-traditional pathway into Software Development, you will make it and you will be the most valuable employee that companies can find.

My Software and Projects

If you liked this article check out my Free & Open Source Software : C'YaPass the Password Generator / Manager and

  1. Never memorize a password again
  2. Never type a password again
  3. Never make up a password again.

Read my article about how it works at LinkedIn : https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/destroy-all-passwords-never-memorize-password-again-roger-deutsch/.

After you read that article, read the details of the source code at: C’YaPass: The Best Password Manager You’ve Never Used (A Complete Password EcoSystem)

You can get all thesource code at my GitHub.